

Joryour Anto. Ofter-the first. Doge.

## texas association for bilingual education

<u>opopopopopopopopopopopopopo</u>

## **EXECUTIVE BOARD 1980-81**

PRESIDENT

Mr. Richard B. Zamora 5000 Milwee No. 78 Houston, Texas 77092 (713) 861-7257

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Dr. Ricardo J. Perez School of Education Pan American University Edinburg, Texas 78539 (512) 381-3463

SECRETARY

Ms. Maria Elena Bentancourt IDRA

5835 Callaghan - Suite 350 San Antonio, Texas 78228 (512) 684-8180

TREASURER

Mrs. Piedad Cortez 7506 Glenbrae Ct. Houston, Texas 77061 (713) 864-7996

**PARLIAMENTARIAN** 

Mr. Oscar Cardenas Lamar Crest Towers - Suite 414 7701 North Lamar Blvd. Austin, Texas 78752 (512) 458-2248

PAST-PRESIDENT

Dr. Albar A. Pena University of Texas at San Antonio San Antonio, Texas 78285 (512) 691-4426

LEGISLATIVE CHAIRPERSON

Dr. Joe J. Bernal 6410 Laurelhill San Antonio, Texas 78229 (512) 828-6411

CONSTITUTION CHAIRPERSON

Mr. Ramon Billescas, Jr. Pharr-San Juan-Alamo I.S.D. P. O. Drawer Y Pharr, Texas 78577 (512) 787-7061

PUBLICATIONS AND PUBLIC RELATIONS CHAIRPERSON

Mrs. Virginia A. Lopez 101 W. Avenue E Robstown, Texas 78380 (512) 387-4516 TO: TABE Executive Board

Chapter Presidents

FROM: Richard B. Zamora

RE: Governor's Task Force on Bilingual Education

DATE: April 15, 1981

Enclosed find testimony prepared by the TABE Executive Board that was presented to the Task Force on Monday, April 13, 1981 at 9:00 a. m. in Austin, Tx. Members of the Executive Board and Legislative Committee members present as resource people were: Dr. Ricardo Perez, Mrs. Virginia Lopez, Mr. Ramon Billescas, Jr., Dr. Joe J. Bernal, Dr. Gloria Zamora and Mr. Albert Cortez. Our opposition on the Task Force Dr. Willis Tate, Dr. Linus D. Wright, Mr. Cipriano F. Guerrera, Jr., Mr. David Escobar, Ms. Kay Bell, Mr. Joe Kelly Butler, Senator W. E. Snelson, Representative Hamp Atkinson and Mr. Charles Wright were not at all receptive to our testimony nor to our answers to their questions.

There was much deliberation and heated arguments as to what the recommendations to the Governor would be. The motion by Dr. Linus Wright for a K-6 bilingual education and 7-12 ESL program was countered by 6-7 substitute motions by our side (Senator Carlos Truan, Representative Matt Garcia, Mr. Tony Bonilla, Ms. Genevieve Gonzalez, Ms. Dominga Coronado. and Ms. Lydia Lenares). All of our substitute motions were defeated.

Since it was in the best interest for the Task Force to have a consensus recommendation to the Governor in view of Civil Action 5281, the two opposing sides decided at 9:30 p. m. to adjourn with the idea of perhaps coming up with a compromise the next day.

Therefore, our side decided on two plans to present the next day: 1. K-6 bilingual education; 7-12 ESL with local option for bilingual education 7-12 with full funding.

2. K-6 bilingual education; 7-8 optional bilingual education with state funding; or 7-12 ESL. Plan two being the bottom line that our side would accept. If all failed, it was felt that we would have to rely on Judge William Wayne Justice mandating an appropriate program.

- Memo, Page 2 - 4-15-81 -

The information that I received from Senator Truan's office yesterday afternoon was that our compromise plan two was finally accepted. Plan two being K-6 (or elementary); 7-8 optional bilingual education; or 7-12 ESL.

I found Monday, April 13, 1981 to be very rewarding for me. I learned a lot from seeing Senator Carlos Truan, Representative Matt Garcia, Mr. Tony Bonilla, Ms. Genevieve Gonzalez, Ms. Dominga Coronado and Ms. Lydia Lenares represent us in a very outstanding fashion. Not only are these persons very knowledgeable, but also very aggressive and quick in their thinking so as not to be "out gunned" by the opposition as many times the opposition tried to "pull the wool over their eyes". Our representatives on the Task Force used a lot of finese and skill in acting and reacting in presenting their views so as to properly represent our limited English proficiency students in the State of Texas. We are all to commend the outstanding efforts of our representatives on the Task Force.

xc Senator Carlos Truan
Representative Matt Garcia
Mr. Tony Bonilla
Ms. Genevieve Gonzalez
Ms. Dominga Coronado
Ms. Lydia Lenares