SUPPORT COMMITTEE FORMED FOR AUGUST 10th TRANSIT ELECTION

The formation of the Regional Transit Authority (RTA) Support Committee was announced this morning at a press conference held at the Hershey Hotel.

Volunteer Chairperson Betty Turner reported that the committee's purpose is to inform the public about the importance of the upcoming August 10th transit election. The passage of the election would create the Regional Transit Authority (RTA).

The RTA's Support Committee consists of a broad-based group of individuals who will participate in a "people-to people" campaign for the passage of the election. The committee will also be maintaining an office and a "RTA Hotline" to respond to the public's request for information concerning the election, and the issues involved.

Members of the Executive Task Force of the Support Committee include Barry Andrews, Jon Bonilla, Rev. Harold T. Branch, Patricia Duaine, Dr. Hector P. Garcia, Sarah Graham, Rev. Elliott Grant and Vic Penuel. Lon Hipp is Committee Treasurer and Chairman of the Finance Committee.

Mrs. Turner stressed the importance of absentee voting in the upcoming election. Absentee voting will begin Monday, July 22, and continue from 8AM-5PM/Monday-Friday through Tuesday, August 6, at 5PM. Nueces County voters may absentee vote at these locations:

*Nueces County Courthouse, 901 Leopard, Corpus Christi.

*Bishop voters at their Nueces County Center

*Robstown voters at the Nueces County Center 710 E. Main Street, Robstown.

San Patricio voters can absentee vote at the San Patricio County Courthouse, 400 W. Sinton, in Sinton.

For more information concerning the election, voters can call the City Secretary's Office at 883-3110 or the RTA Hotline at 887-8200.