

## HISPANIC HERITAGE AWARDS 1990

Host Committee Mario B Diaz, National Chairman American G.I. Forum Carmela G. Lacayo, President - CEO Asociacion Nacional Pro-Personas Mayores Janice Petrovich, Ed D Executive Director ASPIRA Association Inc Guarione M. Diaz, President Cuhan American National Council Burt Corona, Chairman Hermandad Mexicana Nacional Antonio Rigual, Ph D , President Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities Penny Harrison, Executive Director Hispanic Designers, Inc Albert S Jacquez, President L.A M.A Alfredo C Montoya Executive Director Labor Council for Latin American Advancement Jose L. Longoria, Executive Director LULAC National Educational Service Centers, Inc Antonia Hernandez, President Mexican American Legal Defense & Education Fund Irma C. Maldonado National President Mexican American Women's National Association Angel Noe Gonzalez, President Natl Assn. for Bilingual Ed Dr Ana Maria Perera Founder, Past President National Association of Cuban-American Women of the U.S.A., Inc Harry Pachon, Ph D National Director NALEO Manuel A. Toro, President National Association of Hispanic Publications Nydia I. Santiago, Ph.D. xecutive Director

National Conference of Puerto Rican Women, Inc Elia R. Mendoza, Chairman National Council of Hispanic Women Raul Yzaguirre, President National Council of La Raza Marta Sotomayor, Ph.D. President National Hispanic Council on Aging Flaine Coronado Executive Director National Histanic

Quincentennial Commission Ernest Z Robles Executive Director Natl Hispanic Scholarship Fund Luben Montova Chairman of the Board National Hispanic

Student Network Aurora Mojica, Executive Director National Image, Inc.

Louis Nunez, President National Puerto Rican Coalition, Inc Sincerely, Hector Velazguez, President National Puerto Rican Forum

Ruben Franco President & Gen. Counsel Puerto Rican Legal Defense & Education Fund Pedro L. Viera, President

SER-Jobs for Progress National Pablo Sedillo, Executive Director Secretariat for Hispanic Affairs U.S. Catholic Conference

Gala Cbairmen Richard Jose Bela San Antonio, Texas Marta Istomin Washington, DC Rodolfo Balli Sanchez Washington, DC

May 14, 1990

Dr. Hector P. Garcia 1315 Bright Street Corpus Christi, TX 78405

Dear Dr. Garcia:

Enclosed are the nominations we received from the Host Committee Organizations for the 1990 Hispanic Heritage Awards. These nominations are being sent to you for your evaluation. You are one of seven members of the National Selection Committee -- so your balloting is very important.

As a former recipient of this prestigious award, you are particularly aware of the high standards involved in selecting three winners. The grading will be 1-10 on the attached sheet, ten being the highest score. It is essential that we receive the ballots by May 24th, so we can notify the honorees and have time to schedule interviews and photo sessions.

For your convenience, we have enclosed a prepaid Federal Express waybill. Use this to return the entire package to us. It is essential that we receive this no later than Thursday, May 24.

I hope you have marked September 24 on your calendar. This year's Gala will be fantastic in addition to the awards ceremony, reception and dance, the Seven-Up Company will also be hosting a VIP reception for the honorees, the previous awardees, the National Host Committee, and the Ambassadors of the OAS.

If you need any additional information, call Elaine DagenBela at (512) 225-0731. I look forward to receiving your votes and to seeing you in Washington, DC in September.

RICHARD JOSE BELA Co-chairman

**Corporate Host** John R Albers President & CEO Dale P Schaufel Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer The Seven-Up Company Dallas, Texas

SEPTEMBER 24, 1990 ORGANIZATION OF AMERICAN STATES BUILDING WASHINGTON, D.C.

## ÷. . HISPANIC HERITAGE AWARDS 1990

Elost Committee Mario B. Diaz, National Chairman American G. I. Forum Carmela G. Lacayo, President - CEO Asociacion Nacional Pro-Portonia Mayones Janice Petrovich, Ed. D. Executive Director ASPIRA Association Inc.	<i>Gala Chairmen</i> Richard Jose Bela San Antonio, Texas Marta Istomin Washington, D.C. Rodolfo Balli Sanchez Washington, D.C.		<b>Corporate Host</b> John R Albers President & CEO Dale P. Schaufel Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer The Seven-Up Company Dallas, Texas						SEPTEMBER 24, 1990 Organization of American States Building Washington, D.C.					
Guarione M. Diaz, President Cuban American National Council		BALLOT	FOR	THE	1990	н	ISPAN	IC HE	RITA	GE AW	ARD			
Burt Corona, Chairman Hermandad Mexicana Nacional Antonio Rigual, Ph.D., President Hispanic Association of													;	
Colleges and Universities	Indicate your preferenc	e by checki	ng one	e box o	f pare	nthe	ses for	each n	ominee	listed.	Thank y	/ou.		
Penny Harrison, Executive Director Hispanic Designers, Inc.								•						
Albert S. Jacquez, President			LOWE										HIGHEST SCORE	
Alfredo C. Montoya Executive Director			1	2		3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	
Labor Council for Latin American Advancement Jose L. Longoria, Executive Director	• Alfredo Arreguin	x	()	()	) (	)	( )	ميسع)	<b>'</b> ( )	()	()	()	()	
A. LULAC National Educational <sup>A</sup> Service Centers, Inc.					·									
Antonia Hérnandez, President Mexican American Légal Defense & Education Fund	💊 Amalia V. Betanzos		( )	()	) (	)	()	( )	(	()	( )	()	()	
, Irma C. Maldonado National President Mexican Anierican Women's National Association	► Rosario Ferre, Ph.D.		()	()	(	)	()	(	()	()	()	()	()	
Angel Noe Gonzalez, President	▶ Pedro Jose Greer, M.D.		•••	( )	,	、								
Dr. Ana Maria Perera Founder, Past President National Association of			()	( )	(	)	()	()	()	()	()		()	
<i>Cuban-American</i> <i>Women of the U.S.A., Inc.</i> Harry Pachon, Ph.D.	⊾ Hernan LaFontaine		()	()	(	)	()	(•••	()	()	()	()	()	
National Director NALEO Manuel A. Toro, President National Association	<b>、</b> A. Gabriel Melendez		()	()	(	)	()	()	(	()	()	` `(_)	()	
of Hispanic Publications Nydia I. Santiago, Ph.D. Executive Director National Conference of	, Rita Moreno		()	()	(	)	()	()	()	()	()	()	(4)	
Puerlo Rican Women, Inc. Ella R. Mendoza, Chairman National Council of Hispanic Women	💺 Antonia Pantoja		()	()	(	)	~	()	()	()	()	()	() ~	
Raul Yzaguirre, President National Council of La Raza														
Andria Sotomayor, Ph.D. President National Hispanic	🖇 Hilda Perera, Ph.D.		()	()	(	)	()		()	()	()	()	()	
Council on Aging Elaine Coronado Executive Director National Hispanic	🛔 Hipolito (Paul) Roldan		()	()	(	)	U-	•()	()	()	()	<b>( )</b> ·	()	
Quincentennial Commission Ernest Z. Robies Executive Director	• Tom Tellez		()	()	( )	)	()	M	()	()	()	().	()	
Natl. Hispanic Scholarship Fund Luben Montoya Chairman of the Board National Hispanic Student Network	Arturo Villar		()	()	( )	)	()	()	()	()	()	الم	, ()	
Aurora Mojica, Executive Director National Image, Inc.														
Louis Nunez, President National Puerto Rican Coalition, Inc Hector Velazquez, President National Puerto Rican Security														
National Puerto Rican Forum Ruben Franco President & Gen. Counsel Puerto Rican Legal Defense & Education Fund														
Pedro L. Viera, President SER-Jobs for Progress National Pablo Sedillo, Executive Director														

SBR Jobs for Progress National Pablo Sedillo, Executive Director Secretariat for Hispanic Affairs U.S. Catholic Conference

į.

. • .

.

.

102 CONCHO PLAZA • MARKET SQUARE • SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS 78207-4527 USA • 512-225-0775 • FAX 512-225-0778

.