# TEXAS STATE AQUARIUM ASSOCIATION

Officers

John Dorn, President Peggy L. Clark, Vice President Jack Solka, Vice President Arthur W. Zeitler, Vice President Martha DeCou, Secretary Tom Matthews, Treasurer Dr. Quenton Dokken,

**Executive Director** 

## **DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL**

R.C. Allen
William E. CarlElinor Donnell
Edwin A. Durham, II
Paul R. Haas
Edward-H. Harte
Hayden W. Head, Sr.
Richard King, III
Melvyn N. Klein
T.S. Scibienski
James C. Storm
M. Harvey Weil
James Lawrence Wood

#### **ADVISORY COMMITTEE**

... Honorary Co-Chairs

Vice President George Bush Hon. Anne Armstrong Dr. Hector P. Garcia Lady Bird Johnson

#### Honorary Members

Raymond Berry Most Rev. E.L. Browning Dabney Coleman Frances Farenthold Farrah Fawcett Bill Glass Barbara Barrie Harnick **Burt Hooton** Terry Labonte Irlene Mandrell Louise Mandrell Terrence McNally Sam Neelv Johnny Rodriguez Marc Singer Hon. John G. Tower Kent Ullberg

### Active Members

Hon. Hugo Berlanga

Tony Bonilla Hon. Eddie Cavazos Mrs. Sperry Clarke Hon. Kika de la Garza Hon. Robert Earley Clotilde Garcia Bishop Rene Gracida Dodie Hawn George Hawn Peter Holt Mayor Emeritus Luther Jones Harris Kaffie May Dougherty King Michael McKinnon Sandy McKinnon Hon. Solomon Ortiz Hon. Ted Roberts Frank J. Scanio, Jr. Hon. Mac Sweeney Hon. Carlos Truan Mrs. Guy I. Warren



February 14, 1988

Doctor Hector P. Garcia 1315 Bright Corpus Christi, Texas 78409

Dear Doctor Garcia:

The Aquarium's Board of Trustees is pleased to announce "groundbreaking" for the Texas State Aquarium on Saturday, March 19, 1988.

The Trustees and Development Council truly appreciate your serving as one of the Honorary Co-Chairs of our program and being a staunch advocate of the Texas State Aquarium. We invite you to play a vital role in our exciting and historic groundbreaking celebration.

The ceremony will begin at 10:00 a.m., March 19, on the Texas State Aquarium site at the south end of Corpus Christi Beach. We would like for you to sit on stage, to be recognized as one of our key leadership, and join our gracious Mayor Betty Turner in the official "shoveling of the sand." After the on-site festivities, we want you to be our guest at a special luncheon for dignitaries at the Sandy Shores Hotel on Corpus Christi Beach. Please have your secretary communicate with Deana Sutherland or Rosemary Fahey in the Texas State Aquarium office (512-851-2595) concerning your ability to participate in the March 19th activities.

Your presence at groundbreaking will truly enhance the importance and significance of our historic undertaking. We look forward to having you join us in celebrating the beginning of a world-class marine educational, research and entertainment facility for the people of Texas, in Corpus Christi -- the Texas State Aquarium.

Very cordially yours,

John F. Dorn President

cc: Susan Kennedy

P.O. Box 331307 Corpus Christi, Texas 78404 (512) 851-2595 Office: 4825 Everhart, Suite 2