TEXAS STATE AQUARIUM ASSOCIATION

Officers

John Dorn, President Peggy L. Clark, Vice President Jack Solka, Vice President Arthur W. Zeitler, Vice President Martha DeCou, Secretary Tom Matthews, Treasurer Dr. Quenton Dokken,

Executive Director

DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL

R.C. Allen
William E. Carl
Elinor Donnell
Edwin A. Durham, II
Paul R. Haas
Edward H. Harte
Hayden W. Head, Sr.
Richard King, III
Melvyn N. Klein
T.S. Scibienski
James C. Storm
M. Harvey Weil
James Lawrence Wood

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Honorary Co-Chairs

Vice President George Bush Hon. Anne Armstrong Dr. Hector P Garcia Lady Bird Johnson

Honorary Members

Raymond Berry Most Rev. E.L. Browning Dabney Coleman Frances Farenthold Farrah Fawcett Bill Glass Barbara Barrie Harnick Burt Hooton Terry Laborite Irlene Mandrell Louise Mandrell Terrence McNally Sam Neely Johnny Rodriguez Marc Singer Hon, John G. Tower Kent Ullberg

Active Members

Hon. Hugo Berlanga Tony Bonilla Hon. Eddie Cavazos Mrs. Sperry Clarke Hon, Kika de la Garza Hon. Robert Earley Clotilde Garcia Bishop Rene Gracida Dodie Hawn George Hawn^o Peter Holt Mayor Emeritus Luther Jones Harris Kaffie May Dougherty King Michael McKinnon Sandy McKinnon Hon. Solomon Ortiz Hon. Ted Roberts Frank J. Scanio, Jr. Hon. Mac Sweeney Hon. Carlos Truan Mrs. Guy I. Warren



TO: Texas State Aquarium Groundbreaking

Platform Guests

FROM: Texas State Aquarium Groundbreaking Committee

RE: Schedule of Events and Program

DATE: March 16, 1988

Thank you for participating in the Texas State Aquarium groundbreaking ceremonies on Saturday, March 19, 1988. We are so delighted that you will be joining us on the platform and in the actual "Turning of the Sand."

Enclosed is a brief schedule for your records and information, as well, as a list of individuals you will be joining on the platform.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Aquarium office at 851-2595. Thank you again.

TEXAS STATE AQUARIUM ASSOCIATION OFFICIAL GROUNDBREAKING CEREMONIES

PLATFORM GUESTS

Corpus Christi Mayor, Mrs. Betty Turner Councilman David Berlanga, Sr.

Former Ambassador to Great Britain,
The Honorable Anne Armstrong

Chairman, The Brown Foundation, Mrs. Keith Wellin Texas State Aquarium President, Mr. John Dorn

First Lady of Texas, Mrs. Rita Clements

Governor of Texas, The Honorable Bill Clements

Ceremony Chairman, Mrs. Elinor Donnell

Senator Carlos Truan

Speaker Pro-Tem, Representative Hugo Berlanga
Founder of the G. I. Forum, Dr. Hector P. Garcia

Most Reverend Rene H. Gracida, D.D.

Mayor Emeritus Luther Jones



GROUNDBREAKING CEREMONY

OF THE

TEXAS STATE AQUARIUM

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

9:00 a.m.	Kites
9:30 a.m.	Veteran's Band of Corpus Christi Ram Chavez, Conductor
10:00 a.m.	Groundbreaking Ceremony Keynote Speaker - Rita Clements, First Lady of Texas
11:00 a.m.	Guinness World Record Attempt General Participation
11:30 a.m.	Beach Party Registration for Sandcastles, Kite and Costume Contests Volleyball Tournament Fun, Food and Music
12:30 p.m.	Judging for Sandcastles and Costume Contests
1:30 p.m.	Judging for Kite Contest
2:30 p.m.	Awards for 1st and 2nd place All participants receive ribbons
3:00 p.m.	Closing