

STATE SENATOR DISTRICT 9

## The Senate of The State of Texas Austin 78711 December 28, 1983

Committees:

STATE AFFAIRS EDUCATION HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES Vice Chairman, SUBCOMMITTEE ON CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Dr. Hector Garcia American G.I. Forum 1315 Bright Street Corpus Christi, Texas 78405

Dear Hector:

As you know, the Texas Legislative Council and two committees appointed by Lieutenant Governor Bill Hobby will be undertaking completion of a project begun several years ago, a major revision and recodification of the Election Code. This project is part of a continuing statutory revision program created by the legislature to revise and update Texas law. The council staff is currently updating and revising S.B. 610 as introduced in the 67th Legislature in 1981. The finished product will be the starting point for deliberations by the committees. The staff is also preparing a comprehensive summary of the differences between the proposed code draft and current law.

Mr. Ray Hutchison, chairman of the advisory committee, and I would like to have an organizational meeting for both the study committee and the advisory committee at 10 a.m. on Friday, January 27, 1984, in the House Appropriations Committee Room, Room 309, State Capitol Building. At this meeting we will discuss the history of the Election Code revision project, the roles of the two committees, and a tentative work schedule. The first draft of the proposed code will be ready for distribution in early March.

have included a mailing list for the study committee and the advisory committee. If you are aware of any groups or persons who should be included on the advisory committee or if you have any questions about the project, please contact Glen Shuffler in the Texas Legislative Council.

If I may be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Chet Edwards State Senator

GGS:tw Enclosure

83LC382D

P.O. BOX 12068, AUSTIN 78711, 512/475-3758 214/780-1521 REPUBLIC BANK TOWER, SUITE 616, WACO 76701, 817/767-2552 P.O. BOX 345, DUNCANVILLE 75116, 214/780-1521

## Election Code Study Committee Mailing List

The Honorable Chet Edwards, Chairman State Senator 207-D E. Camp Wisdom Road Duncanville, Texas 75116

The Honorable Ray Farabee State Senator P.O. Drawer S&P Wichita Falls, Texas 76307

The Honorable El Franco Lee State Representative 3701 Cavalcade Houston, Texas 77026

The Honorable Gerald Hill State Representative P.O. Box 2910 Austin, Texas 78769

The Honorable Ike Harris State Senator 2425 Cedar Springs Dallas, Texas 75201

The Honorable Lee Jackson State Representative 10440 E. Northwest Hwy. Suite 302 Dallas, Texas 75238

The Honorable Bill Blanton State Representative 14934 Webb Chapel Rd., No. 36 Farmers Branch, Texas 75234

The Honorable Stan Schlueter State Representative P.O. Box 276 Killeen, Texas 76541

The Honorable Mike Millsap State Representative P.O. Box 16006 Fort Worth, Texas 76133

The Honorable John Fainter Secretary of State Box 12697, Capitol Station Austin, Texas 78711 Mr. Bob Slagle Democratic Party Chairman Suite 3C2, Stokes Bldg. Austin, Texas 78701

Mr. George Strake Republican Party Chairman 3300 Gulf Building 712 Main Street Houston, Texas 77002

Election Code Advisory Committee Mailing List

Mr. Ray Hutchison, Chairman 211 N. Ervay Bldg. Suite 1100 Dallas, Texas 75201

Ms. Karen Gladney Office of Secretary of State Director, Elections Division P.O. Box 12887, Capitol Station Austin, Texas 78711

Mr. Steven Oaks
Butler Binion
Allied Bank Plaza
1000 Louisiana, Suite 1347
Houston, Texas 77002

Ms. Susan McBee P.O. Drawer Z Del Rio, Texas 78840

Mr. Gaylord Armstrong Republic Bank Bldg., 5th Floor 900 Congress Ave. Austin, Texas 78701

Mr. Randall "Buck" Wood 1212 S.W. Tower Austin, Texas 78701

Mr. W. E. (Pete) Snelson 319 N. Colorado Midland, Texas 79701

Mr. Tom Green First Assistant Attorney General Supreme Court Building P.O. Box 12548 Austin, Texas 78711

というない 大山西山

11

1

Ms. Rowena Rodgers League of Women Voters of Texas 2128 La Manda San Antonio, Texas 78201

Mr. Raul Reza Vasquez League of United Latin American Citizens 4320 Bull Creek, No. 117 Austin, Texas 78731

Mrs. Rhonnie Campbell Mayer
President, County and District Clerks'
Association of Texas
County Clerk, Moore County
Box 396
Dumas, Texas 79029

Dr. Hector Garcia American G.I. Forum 1315 Bright Street Corpus Christi, Texas 78405

Ms. Alice Church Association of City Clerks and Secretaries P.O. Box 666 Missouri City, Texas 77449

Association of Tax Assessor-Collectors 510 W. 15th Austin, Texas 78701

Common Cause 305 W. 15th Austin, Texas 78701

Mexican-American Legal Defense and Education Fund (MALDEF) 201 N. St. Mary's, Suite 517 San Antonio, Texas 78205

Texas State Conference of Branches, NAACP 1314 West Cherry San Antonio, Texas 78210

Southwest Voter Registration Project 201 North St. Mary's Suite 501 San Antonio, Texas 78205

83LC382D(1)